California Federation of Chaparral Poets, Inc.

Serving Poets for 75 Years

www.ChaparralPoets.org

• Submit entries to:

Vince Storti, 2014 Contest Chairperson California Federation of Chaparral Poets, Inc. PO Box 3004, Alameda, CA, 94501

> Postmarked Deadline: January 31, 2014

2014 Annual Poetry Contest OPEN TO ALL POETS

C

PRIZES: 1^{st} prize: $\$60^{00}$ 2^{nd} prize: $\$40^{00}$ 3^{rd} prize: $\$25^{00}$

Catego	ries Titles are not counted as part of line limits	Line Limit
1.	THEME: In a Nutshell, one first prize only	32 lines
2.	Fixed Forms (specify form)	what form requires
3.	Short Poem	13 lines
4.	Any Subject, any style	32 lines
5.	Light or Humorous Poem	28 lines
6.	Nature: any aspect	28 lines
7.	Science and Technology: any aspect	32 lines
8.	California	32 lines
9.	Lois Jeannette Dalton Memorial Award: any aspect of Humanity	24 lines
10.	Roscoe Fortson Memorial Award: Looking Backward (childhood memories in adult voice)	28 lines
11.	Pegasus Buchanan Memorial Award: any subject Rhymed and Metered	28 lines
12.	Executive Board Award: <i>Jumping Ship</i> ; first, second and third prizes only	60 lines

RULES

POSTMARKED DEADLINE: Midnight, January 31, 2014. Members whose dues are not paid by December 31, 2013 will not be eligible for the competition without paying the nonmember entry fees. *Please do not include dues payment with poetry submissions!*

ENTRY FEE: A five dollar (\$5.00) fee is required of nonmembers for each poem entered.

JUDGES: Entries will be judged by poetry professionals from the Western US.

ADVICE and ASSISTANCE: Visit your local chapter for information, ideas, examples, and answers to your questions.

SUBMISSIONS: All entries must be typewritten on standard white paper, one poem per page. Send two (2) copies of each entry. On BOTH copies in upper right hand corner, type: number and category name. On one (1) copy only, in upper left corner, type: your name, address, and member affiliation (use of mailing labels is acceptable, but designate chapter). This copy is needed for the printer, program readers and special awards judges. Submit ALL poems in ONE envelope. The Winners List will be posted on the CFCP web site [www. ChaparralPoets.org/winners.html] approximately one month before the CFCP Convention. *This will serve as your official notification!* Those who wish a printed list of winners and letter of notification, please include SASE. Prizewinning and honorable mention poems of those present will be read and awards presented at the annual convention to be held at The Wood Colony Hall, 3549 N. Dakota Avenue, Modesto, CA 95358. Exact time and date TBA.

EXCLUSIONS: Entries not complying with the rules will be disqualified. Submit only original poems which have never been awarded a prize in any contest nor submitted to an editor or other contest while being considered for the CFCP awards. If previously published, include on your identification copy the name of publication and date. Only one poem may be submitted in each category. Do not submit the same poem to more than one category. Winners and honorable mentions are not to appear in publication or be entered in another contest whose awards are announced prior to May 1, 2014.

PUBLICATION: All poems remain the property of the author. However, the California Federation of Chaparral Poets, Inc. reserves the right to publish poems which receive recognition in their publications. Keep a copy of your submissions. No manuscripts will be returned.

SPECIAL AWARDS: Special awards are chosen by judges other than the category judges. The **Golden Pegasus Trophy** will be awarded to the poet who authored the poem judged to be "best of the best" among all prize winners. The **Roadrunnerup Trophy** will be awarded to the poet who authored the poem judged to be best among all honorable mention poems. The **Beth Martin Haas Memorial Award** for a Member distinguished by excellence of service to poets and poetry will be selected by the family of Beth Martin Haas. The **Lois Jeannette Dalton Memorial Award** will be selected by Joyce Dalton Wheeler. The **Roscoe Fortson Memorial Awards** will be chosen by judges other than the category judges.